Alex Hales Leads Galle Marvels to Victory over Kandy Falcons LPL 2024

Alex Hales Leads Galle Marvels to Victory over Kandy Falcons LPL 2024

The stunning Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium hosted the 14th match of the Lanka Premier League 2024. Galle Marvels won the toss and opted to field first under the evening skies, aiming to capitalize on favorable bowling conditions.

Match Summary

Kandy Falcons                                                                        187/9 (20)

Andre Fletcher
69 (43)

Prabath Jayasuriya
3/30 (4)

Dinesh Chandimal
32 (14)

Dwaine Pretorius
2/37 (4)

Angelo Mathews
29 (15)

Isuru Udana
1/43 (4)

Galle Marvels                                                                        188/2 (19.2)

Alex Hales
86 (55)

Wanindu Hasaranga
1/29 (4)

Bhanuka Rajapaksa
46 (26)

Andre Fletcher
1/11 (2)

Niroshan Dickwella (c)
25 (22)

Kamindu Mendis
0/39 (4)

Toss: Galle Marvels won the toss and elected to field first.
Stadium: Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium.
Result: Galle Marvels won by eight wickets with four balls remaining.
Man of the Match: Prabath Jayasuriya(GM) – 3/30 (4)

First Innings Kandy Falcons

Kandy Falcons started their innings aggressively, led by the explosive batting of Andre Fletcher. Fletcher’s innings of 69 runs off 43 deliveries included six boundaries and three sixes, setting a formidable pace early on. Prabath Jayasuriya starred with the ball for Galle Marvels, taking three wickets for 30 runs in his 4-over spell. Dinesh Chandimal’s quickfire 32 off 14 balls and Angelo Mathews’ 29 off 15 balls further bolstered Kandy’s total. Dwaine Pretorius contributed with two wickets for 37 runs as Kandy Falcons posted a challenging total of 187/9 in their allotted 20 overs.

Second Innings Galle Marvels Chase

In response to Kandy’s target of 188 runs, Galle Marvels began their innings confidently. Alex Hales played a stellar knock, scoring 86 runs off 55 balls, including ten boundaries and three sixes, anchoring Galle’s chase. Bhanuka Rajapaksa provided crucial support with a brisk 46 off 26 balls, helping maintain momentum. Captain Niroshan Dickwella’s 25 off 22 balls ensured Galle stayed on course. Despite Wanindu Hasaranga’s economical bowling, conceding 29 runs and taking one wicket in his four overs, Galle Marvels reached the target in 19.2 overs, finishing at 188/2.

Last Moments

The match was a thrilling display of cricketing prowess, with Galle Marvels displaying dominance in their chase of 188 runs set by Kandy Falcons. Led by Alex Hales’ outstanding innings and supported well by Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Galle Marvels achieved victory with strategic batting and effective partnerships. This win solidifies Galle Marvels’ position in the LPL 2024 standings, showcasing their ability to handle pressure situations and deliver consistent performances.