No Comments

KKR Crush LSG with Unpredictable Batting and Clinical Bowling

KKR Crush LSG with Unpredictable Batting and Clinical Bowling

The 54th match of IPL 2024 was one-sided, with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) thrashing the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by a massive 98 runs. Here’s a breakdown of the key moments:

Narine’s Explosive Knock Sets the Tone

KKR opted to bat first, and their innings revolved around a magnificent knock from Sunil Narine. The explosive all-rounder smashed a brutal 81 runs off just 39 balls, peppering his innings with seven sixes and six fours. This quickfire knock in the first 12 overs laid the foundation for a big total.

Late Order Cameos Boost KKR’s Total

Openers Phil Salt and Shreyas Iyer gave a decent start, but Narine took center stage. Later, cameos from Angkrish Raghuvanshi (32) and the hard-hitting Ramandeep Singh (25 off just 6 balls) ensured KKR reached a daunting 235 for 6. Ramandeep was also impressed by a spectacular diving catch that dismissed LSG batsman Arshdeep Singh.

LSG Falter in the Chase

Chasing a mammoth target, LSG’s innings never got going. The KKR bowling attack, known for their variety, choked the LSG batters. While KL Rahul and Marcus Stoinis stitched together a 50-run partnership, the scoring rate needed to be faster. Once this stand was broken, the LSG batting order crumbled, losing their last nine wickets for just 67 runs.

KKR Spinners Weave Their Magic

Spinners Varun Chakaravarthy and Harshit Rana were the pick of the KKR bowlers, claiming three wickets each. Andre Russell chipped in with two crucial wickets as well. With a disciplined bowling performance, KKR restricted LSG to a meager 137 runs, securing a comfortable victory.

KKR Go Top, LSG Need to Bounce Back

This win puts KKR at the top of the IPL 2024 points table, showcasing their well-rounded form. For LSG, this loss is a setback, but the tournament is far from over. They must regroup, analyze their mistakes, and come back stronger in their upcoming matches.

Match Summary

Kolkata Knight Riders                                          235/6 (20)

Sunil Narine

81 (39)

3/49 (4)

Phil Salt

32 (14)

Yudhvir Singh
1/24 (2)

Angkrish Raghuvanshi

32 (26)

Ravi Bishnoi
1/33 (4)

Lucknow Super Giants                                         137 (16.1)

Marcus Stoinis

36 (21)

Harshit Rana
3/24 (3.1)

KL Rahul

25 (21)

Varun Chakaravarthy
3/30 (3)

Ashton Turner
16 (9)

Andre Russell
2/17 (2)

Toss: LSG won the toss and decided to bowl

Stadium: Ekana Sports City, Lucknow

Result: KKR won by 98 runs 

Player of the Match: Sunil Narine (KKR) – 81 (39) & 1/22 (4)