No Comments

New Zealand vs Pakistan 2nd T20 Match Highlights | Pakistan Dominate Second T20 Against New Zealand

New Zealand vs Pakistan 2nd T20 Match Highlights

Pakistan secured a convincing win in the second T20 against New Zealand at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. Let’s dissect how the match unfolded:

New Zealand Crumble Under Bowling Pressure

Pakistan elected to bowl first, and their decision proved to be a masterstroke. The bowling attack, spearheaded by the fiery Shaheen Afridi (3/13), was exceptional. Afridi’s pace and swing dismantled the New Zealand top order, restricting them to a meager total of 90 runs in just 20 overs.

Mark Chapman (19) and Cole McConchie (15) were the only Kiwi batsmen to reach double digits. The remaining batters succumbed to a combination of accurate pace and sharp spin from Mohammad Amir (2/13) and Shadab Khan (2/15).

Clinical Chase by Pakistan Batsmen

Chasing a modest target of 91, Pakistan openers Mohammad Rizwan (45*) and Babar Azam (14) started cautiously. However, Rizwan took the initiative after Azam’s dismissal, finding boundaries at regular intervals. He anchored the chase with a composed 45* off 34 balls.

Irfan Khan (18) chipped in with a valuable cameo, ensuring Pakistan never lost momentum. The target was chased down comfortably in 12.1 overs with seven wickets remaining.

Shaheen Afridi Deservedly Named Player of the Match

Shaheen Afridi was rightfully adjudged the Player of the Match for his exceptional bowling performance. His three crucial wickets set the tone for the Pakistani victory.

Dominant Pakistan Takes Series Lead

With this convincing win, Pakistan has taken a 1-0 lead in the five-match T20 series. New Zealand must regroup and develop a strong performance to level the series.

Match Summary

New Zealand                                                              90/10 (20)

Mark Chapman

19 (16)

Shaheen Afridi

3/13 (3.1)

Cole McConchie

15 (18)

Muhammad Amir

2/13 (3)

Dean Foxcroft

13 (14)

Shadab Khan

2/15 (3)

Pakistan                                                                       92/3 (12.1)

Muhammad Rizwan

45* (34)

Ben Lister

1/10 (2)

Irfan Khan

18 (18)

Ish Sodhi

1/18 (3)

Babar Azam

14 (13)

Michael Bracewell

1/23 (2.1)

Toss: Pak won the toss and decided to bowl 

Stadium: Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium

Result: Pakistan won by 7 wickets and 47 balls left

Player of the Match: Shaheen Afridi 3/13 (3.1)