No Comments

RCB vs SRH IPL 2024, Match 30 Highlights | Record-Breaking Night in Chinnaswamy Stadium

RCB vs SRH IPL 2024, Match 30 Highlights

The 30th match of IPL 2024 was a night to remember for cricket fans! It witnessed phenomenal batting displays from both sides, and several records tumbled like dominoes. Get ready for a rollercoaster ride because this match had it all!

The Hyderabad batters came out with all guns blazing right from the start. The openers, Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma tore into the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) bowling attack, setting the tone for a massive total. Head, fresh off his heroics in the international arena, continued his golden touch. He hammered the RCB bowlers, smashing a career-best 102 runs in just 41 balls! His knock was laced with eight massive sixes, sending shivers down the spines of bowlers and a clear message to his opponents before the upcoming T20 World Cup. 

Head wasn’t alone in the carnage. Heinrich Klaasen, the South African wicket-keeper batsman, joined the party when he entered the crease. Promoted to number 3 after the openers put on a show, Klaasen wasted no time. He quickly found his rhythm, launching into a six-hitting spree. His knock of 67 runs came in just 31 balls and included a staggering seven sixes! The duo of Head and Klaasen took the RCB bowling attack to the cleaners, putting on a breathtaking display of power hitting. 

RCB Bowlers Struggle, But Not For Lack of Trying

It’s important to acknowledge that the RCB bowlers were having a better day at the office. Missing a frontline spinner, they started with off-spinner Will Jacks, who initially did a decent job containing the SRH openers. He gave away only seven runs in his first and, even better, only four runs in his second. However, the sheer power and brilliance of the SRH batting was too much to handle. 

Records Fall Like Ninepins

By the end of the powerplay (the first six overs in a T20 match), SRH had already racked up a massive 76 runs, marking the third time they’ve crossed the 70-run mark in that phase this season. This aggressive batting display resulted in a record-breaking total for SRH. They surpassed their own record set earlier this season, posting a jaw-dropping 287 runs for losing just 3 wickets! It is the highest total ever recorded in the history of the IPL and a true testament to the batting firepower of the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

A Glimpse of Hope for RCB?

Chasing a mammoth total like 288 would always be an uphill battle for RCB. However, they did show some fight in their response. Opener Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis started aggressively, mirroring the SRH batting approach. The pair put on a quickfire 79-run partnership in the powerplay, keeping RCB in the hunt. Unfortunately, their momentum was halted after the powerplay overs with Kohli’s dismissal. Wickets began falling regularly, putting RCB on the back foot.

Karthik’s Lone Warrior Act

When things were looking bleak for RCB, wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik stepped up and played a blinder of an innings. He took the bowling attack head-on, playing some audacious shots. His knock of 83 runs came in a mere 35 balls and included a spectacular switch-hit six off the experienced Bhuvneshwar Kumar! Karthik’s valiant effort, however, couldn’t prevent RCB from succumbing to their fifth consecutive defeat. 

A Night of Records and a Match for the History Books

This match was a true spectacle for cricket fans. It wasn’t just about SRH’s record-breaking total and the highest combined score in T20 cricket history – a staggering 549 runs! Both teams hit a whopping 22 sixes, setting another IPL record. 

While SRH emerged victorious by 25 runs, RCB can take some positives from their batting display. The tournament is still open, and they have plenty of time to turn things around. This match will be remembered for a long time for the record-breaking scores and the spirit of cricket displayed by both teams. 

Match Summary

Sunrisers Hyderabad                                                    287/3 (20)

Travis Head

102 (41)

Lockie Ferguson

2/52 (4)

Heinrich Klaasen

67 (31)

Reece Topley

1/68 (4)

Abdul Samad

37* (10)

Mahipal Lomor

0/18 (1)

Royal Challengers Bengaluru                                    262/7 (20)

Dinesh Karthik

83 (35)

Pat Cummins

3/43 (4)

Faf du Plessis

62 (28)

Mayank Markande

2/46 (4)

Virat Kohli

42 (20)

T. Natarajan

1/47 (4)

Toss: RCB won the toss and decided to bowl first

Stadium: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Result: SRH won by 25 runs

Player of the Match: Travis Head (SRH) – 102 (41)