No Comments

The ICC chose Shahid Afridi as the Ambassador For the T20 World Cup 2024

Today, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that Shahid Afridi, a famous all-rounder from Pakistan, is joining the lineup of Ambassadors for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. This exciting tournament will take place in the USA and the West Indies starting from June 1st.

Shahid Afridi is a cricket legend who has played in six T20 World Cups, leading his team twice as captain. He played a crucial role in Pakistan’s victory in 2009, where he was named Player of the Match in the final at Lord’s. As an Ambassador, Afridi will be involved in various promotional activities for the World Cup and will share his expert knowledge through guest columns.

Shahid Afridi, winner of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2009, expressed his deep connection to the event, saying, “The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup holds a special place in my heart. From being named Player of the Tournament in the first edition to lifting the trophy in 2009, some of my most cherished career moments have come from competing on this stage.

“T20 World Cups have grown significantly in recent years, and I’m excited to be part of this edition, where we will witness more teams, more matches, and even more excitement than ever before.

“I am really looking forward to the India vs Pakistan match on 9 June. It’s one of the greatest rivalries in sports, and New York will be a perfect stage for this must-see showdown between two outstanding teams.”

Claire Furlong, ICC General Manager – Marketing and Communications, commented: “Shahid Afridi has competed in six ICC Men’s T20 World Cups, two as captain, and delivered a Player of the Match performance when Pakistan won the trophy in 2009. There’s no one better to join our all-star Ambassador team.”

“Shahid Afridi is adored by fans worldwide and, alongside Yuvraj Singh, Chris Gayle, and eight-time Olympic gold medalist Usain Bolt, will be engaging fans leading up to what promises to be the largest T20 World Cup to date.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will run from June 1st to June 29th, with the co-hosts USA facing Canada in the opening match at Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas. A total of 20 teams will compete in 55 matches across nine venues, culminating in the final on June 29th in Barbados, making it the most extravagant cricket event ever.”

Historic first match at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium will be played on 3 June between 2014 champions Sri Lanka and South Africa with 10 teams to feature across eight matches in New York.