No Comments

PSL 9 Final Match | Multan Sultans vs Islamabad United

PSL 9 Final Match Multan Sultans vs Islamabad United


Multan Sultans                                 159/9 (20 overs)

Islamabad United                           163/8   (20 Overs)

Player of the Match:  Imad Wasim (IU) 5/23, 19*(17)

Player of the Tournament: Shadab Khan (IU) 305 runs, 14 wickets

Multan Sultans Batting

Yasir Khanc Mills b Imad Wasim6610100.00
Mohammad Rizwan (c)†c Guptill b Shadab Khan262630100.00
David Willeyb Imad Wasim6301200.00
Usman Khanc sub (JM Cox) b Shadab Khan574071142.50
Johnson Charlesc Naseem Shah b Imad Wasim460066.66
Khushdil Shahc Guptill b Imad Wasim11131084.61
Usama Mirc Hunain Shah b Shadab Khan6201300.00
Iftikhar Ahmednot out322033160.00
Chris Jordanc †Azam Khan b Imad Wasim01000.00
Abbas Afridirun out (Shadab Khan/†Azam Khan)120050.00
Mohammad Alinot out03000.00
TOTAL:  159/9   ( 20 Overs, RR: 7.95 )                                                         EXTRAS:  10 (b 2, lb 3, nb 2, w 3)

Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Yasir Khan, 1.3 over), 2-14 (David Willey, 1.6 over), 3-67 (Mohammad Rizwan, 9.5 over), 4-85 (Johnson Charles, 11.4 over), 5-114 (Usman Khan, 15.1 over), 6-120 (Usama Mir, 15.3 over), 7-126 (Khushdil Shah, 16.2 over), 8-126 (Chris Jordan, 16.3 over), 9-127 (Abbas Afridi, 16.6 over).

Islamabad United Bowling

Naseem Shah402506.25
Imad Wasim402355.75
Hunain Shah1017017.00
Faheem Ashraf3033011.00
Tymal Mills402406.00
Shadab Khan403238.00

Islamabad United Batting

Martin Guptillrun out (Iftikhar Ahmed/†Mohammad Rizwan)50325643156.25
Colin Munroc Iftikhar Ahmed b Khushdil Shah17131440130.76
Agha Salmanc & b Khushdil Shah1011112090.90
Shadab Khan (c)b Iftikhar Ahmed4880050.00
Azam Khan †c †Mohammad Rizwan b Usama Mir30223441136.36
Imad Wasimnot out19174820111.76
Haider Alic †Mohammad Rizwan b Willey53410166.66
Faheem Ashrafc & b Iftikhar Ahmed1440025.00
Naseem Shahc †Mohammad Rizwan b Mohammad Ali1792021188.88
Hunain Shahnot out41110400.00

TOTAL:  163/8   ( 20 Overs, RR: 8.15 )                                                         EXTRAS: 6 ((lb 3, w 3)

Did not bat: 

Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Colin Munro, 3.1 over), 2-46 (Agha Salman, 5.6 over), 3-55 (Shadab Khan, 8.1 over), 4-102 (Martin Guptill, 12.5 over), 5-121 (Azam Khan, 15.3 over), 6-128 (Haider Ali, 16.2 over), 7-129 (Faheem Ashraf, 17.1 over), 8-159 (Naseem Shah, 19.5 over).

Multan Sultans Bowling

David Willey201517.50
Khushdil Shah412125.25
Mohammad Ali403218.00
Iftikhar Ahmed301926.33
Chris Jordan302809.33
Usama Mir3036112.00
Abbas Afridi10909.00


Match DetailsNational Stadium
TossMultan Sultans elected to bowl
SeriesPakistan Super League (PSL 9)
UmpiresChris Gaffaney New (Zealand), Richard Illingworth (England), Ahsan Raza (Pakistan, TV)
Match RefereeRoshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka)

Karachi, March 18, 2024: Cricket fans were treated to an electrifying display of T20 cricket as Islamabad United triumphed over Multan Sultans in the final match of PSL 9 at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi. The HBL PSL 9 final lived up to its billing, offering a roller-coaster ride of emotions and breathtaking moments until the very last ball.

Match Overview

Toss: Multan Sultans win the toss and chose to bat first, aiming to set a challenging target for Islamabad United.

Imad Wasim’s Heroics: The match witnessed a stellar performance from Islamabad United’s captain, Imad Wasim, who etched his name in the record books with a remarkable five-wicket haul. His clinical bowling display played a pivotal role in restricting Multan Sultans’ batting lineup.

Multan Sultans’ Innings: Despite a promising start, Multan Sultans encountered a middle-order collapse, losing wickets at crucial intervals. However, a spirited effort from Iftikhar Ahmed towards the end propelled them to a competitive total of 159-9 in their allotted 20 overs.

Islamabad United’s Chase: Chasing a target of 160 runs, Islamabad United got off to a solid start with Martin Guptill providing impetus at the top of the order. However, Multan Sultans fought back with quick wickets, creating tension and drama in the contest.

Imad Wasim and Naseem Shah’s Stand: With the match hanging in the balance, the duo of Imad Wasim and Naseem Shah displayed nerves of steel in the final over. With two runs needed off the last ball, Islamabad United held their nerve to secure a dramatic victory and claim the coveted PSL title.

Key Performances

Imad Wasim: The standout performer of the match, Imad Wasim’s exceptional bowling spell earned him the player of the match accolade. He dismantled Multan Sultans’ batting lineup with his guile and precision.

Usama Mir: Multan Sultans’ ace bowler, Usama Mir, was a standout performer throughout the tournament, finishing as the leading wicket-taker with 24 scalps to his name.

Usman Khan: Multan Sultans’ batting sensation, Usman Khan, showcased his prowess with the bat, accumulating a staggering 430 runs throughout the tournament to earn the coveted title of the tournament’s leading run-scorer.

Shadab Khan: Islamabad United’s talisman, Shadab Khan, was awarded the HBL Player of the Tournament for his stellar all-round contributions, which played a crucial role in his team’s success.

Emerging Player: Muhammad Irfan Khan (Karachi Kings)

All-Rounder: Saim Ayub (Peshawar Zalmi)

Fielder: Muhammad Irfan Khan (Karachi Kings)

Wicketkeeper: Azam Khan (Islamabad United)

Bowler: Usama Mir (Multan Sultans)

Batter: Usman Khan (Multan Sultans)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Peshawar Zalmi

Umpire of the Tournament: Asif Yaqoob

The PSL 9 Final will be remembered as a thrilling spectacle, showcasing the best of Pakistan’s cricketing talent and providing fans with unforgettable moments. Islamabad United’s triumph in the final epitomized the essence of T20 cricket, with resilience, skill, and determination leading them to glory. As the draperies fall on another exhilarating season of the HBL PSL, cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the next edition, anticipating more excitement, drama, and unforgettable moments on the cricketing stage.